Leadership and staff

Ashley McSwain

LGSW, msod

Executive Director

Ashley McSwain is the current Executive Director for CFLS and a recognized expert in women's reentry. Prior to joining CFLS, Ms. McSwain served as Executive Director for Our Place DC, a nonprofit providing programming and resources to currently and formerly incarcerated women in the D.C area. Ms. McSwain is a licensed Social Worker in the state of Maryland and in the District of Columbia and holds a Master's of Social Work from Temple University, a Master's of Organizational Development from American University, and a Bachelor's degree in Criminal Justice from Temple University. She is a member of the adjunct faculty at Catholic University in the Graduate School of Social Work and is certified as a domestic violence counselor. Ms. McSwain served as Deputy Director for a Pennsylvania-based nonprofit for ten years, overseeing five shelters, three transitional housing programs, four food pantries, a first-time homebuyer program, and a Homeowner Emergency Assistance Program (HEMAP). She has worked in the human services field for more than twenty-five years.

Shena Mcfadden

Housing and Wellness Director 

Shena McFadden manages all housing services and property management for CFLS. Ms. McFadden has a strong background in the human service field, with over a decade of experience working with the homeless and mentally ill. Previously, she worked as the director of a mental health program in Cleveland, Ohio, and has experience providing mental health and housing case management as well as individual counseling and group therapy. Ms. McFadden graduated in 2011 from Capella University with a Master’s degree in Counseling Studies and is currently working towards her Ph.D. in Community and Social Services. Contact Shena McFadden at Smcfadden@cflsdc.org or (202) 864-6234

Katherine sponaugle

Reentry and Victim Services Director

Katherine Sponaugle oversees our reentry and victim services, Speakers Bureau, and Drop-In Center. Katherine’s interest in the criminal justice system began in Buffalo, NY, where she assisted returning citizens in starting their own nonprofits and mentoring programs. She earned a Master’s in Criminal Justice from Boston University. Katherine authored essays about individuals’ reentry experiences in the photo-essay documentary, Coming Home: Reentry After Incarceration. She has been with Community Family Life Services since January 2018. Contact Katherine Sponaugle at Ksponaugle@cflsdc.org or (202) 864-6310

CONTACT
US

ALEXMA ALVARADO

Drop-In Center Coordinator

Aalvarado@cflsdc.org

(202) 864-6295

JUSTIN FLEMMINGS

Supportive Programs & HIV Services Support

Jflemmings@cflsdc.org

(202) 853-3009

LACHRISA RICHARDSON

Drop-In Center Program Support

Lrichardson@cflsdc.org

(202) 347-0511

MAHENDRA SUPENO

IT Support

Msupeno@cflsdc.org

(202) 864-6299

MACKENZIE MCSWAIN

Speaker's Bureau Public Allies Staff

Mlmcswain@cflsdc.org

(202) 750-6024

MELANNI BOLTON

Employment Coordinator

Mbolton@cflsdc.org

(202) 864-6304

JOANNE LANGEVIN

Financial Literacy Coach

Jlangevin@cflsdc.org

(202) 849-2302

WHITNEY ARKIN

Medical Case Manager

Warkin@cflsdc.org

(202) 853-3098

KATHLEEN BYKS

Program Manager/Medical Case Manager

Kbyks@cflsdc.org

(202) 864-6236

DIANE CARTER-BRYANT

Community Health Worker

SHELBY WALLINGTON

HIV Prevention and Outreach Specialist

Swallington@cflsdc.org

(202) 864-6297

RAY ALLEN

Resident Monitor (Milestone)

Rallen@cflsdc.org

(202) 635-1744

APRIL SHEPHERD

Reentry Program Manager

Ashepherd@cflsdc.org

(202) 864-6307

BRIDGET ROBINSON

Parent Education/Home Visitor Case Manager

Brobinson@cflsdc.org

(202) 864-6302

ASHLEI ALEXANDER

Domestic Violence & Reentry Case Manager

Aalexander@cflsdc.org

(202) 851-4084

CONTACT
US
Community Family Life Services

Phone: (202) 347-0511 
Fax: (202) 347-0520


305 E Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001

Contact Us
  • Flickr Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • White Facebook Icon

Copyright © Community Family Life Services. Privacy Policy  Site Map    
Designate #8818 United Way/Designate #60759 CFC of the National Capital Area